Aṅguttara Nikāya

7. Book of the Sevens

33. A Sense of Shame

“Last night, monks, a certain devata in the far extreme of the night, her extreme radiance lighting up the entirety of Jeta’s Grove, came to me and, on arrival, bowed down to me and stood to one side. As she was standing there, she said to me, ‘These seven qualities, lord, lead to a monk’s non-decline. Which seven? Respect for the teacher, respect for the Dhamma, respect for the Sangha, respect for training, respect for concentration, respect for shame, respect for compunction. These seven qualities, lord, lead to a monk’s non-decline.’

“That is what that devata said. Having said it, she bowed down to me, circled me three times, and then disappeared right there.”

Respecting the Teacher
respecting the Dhamma,
and with fierce respect for the Sangha,
respecting concentration, ardent,
and with fierce respect for training,
consummate in shame & compunction,
deferential, respectful
—incapable of decline—
one is right in the presence of unbinding.