Itivuttaka: The Buddha’s Sayings

The Section of the Threes

53. Feelings (2)

This was said by the Lord…

“Bhikkhus, there are these three feelings. What three? Pleasant feeling, painful feeling, and neither-pleasant-nor-painful feeling. Pleasant feeling, bhikkhus, should be seen as suffering, painful feeling should be seen as a dart, neither-pleasant-nor-painful feeling should be seen as impermanent.

“When a bhikkhu has seen these three feelings thus, he is said to be a noble one who sees rightly. He has cut off craving, destroyed the fetters, and by thoroughly understanding conceit, he has made an end of suffering.”

One sees pleasure as suffering
And sees pain as a dart.
One sees as impermanent the peaceful feeling
That is neither pleasant nor painful.

Such a bhikkhu who sees rightly
Is thereby well released.
Accomplished in knowledge, at peace,
That sage has overcome all bonds.